To Fear or Not to Fear? That Shouldn’t Be a Question.

Fear. That little monster that always looks bigger than it actually is. It feeds on our confidence. It casts this cloud over faces that should be bright.

Fear blinds. If there’s one thing I’m learning being a new YA and all is that life isn’t always sunshine and roses. Life can get hard. Sometimes, you come across problems that just don’t have a “quick-fix” answer. Sometimes, we can’t even see the answer. But a lot of times, the answer is like…right thereRight in front of us. But either we don’t see it because we’re blinded by our fear…or we shut our eyes, not wanting to see the answer. Because fear makes the answer seem too far off for us.

Fear cripples. It’s that split second you tense when you think you’re wrong. But what’s so wrong about being…wrong?

Fear is like that itchy dress I hated when I was a kid. I hated how the rough fiber felt against my skin. It’s like those annoying T-shirt tags that scrape the back of your neck. The ones you’d rather just cut off.

Fear is that dreadful feeling when someone you love calls you or sends you a message out of the blue, and the first thought that comes to your mind is…Am I in trouble? 

I hate that. I hate how weak I feel when I’m scared. I hate how sometimes, I get this sick feeling in my stomach if I think that the person who just sent me a message on Whatsapp is mad…when in fact, they just have good news.

What they say is true–FEAR can mean two things. Forget Everything And Run or Face Everything And Rise. 

To be fair, I don’t run away from everything I’m scared of. I’ve learned to take things head on. But I’m not perfect. There are some things I try to run from. Because they scare me.

The only thing is…I’m tired of running. Sometimes, the hardest thing to do is stop.

I think it’s time I stopped letting fear take the wheel. I’m ready to give up being afraid. I’m done being scared. Of being wrong. Of messing up. Of not being good enough. Of not knowing what the future holds. Of going out of my comfort zone. I’m going to take these things head on.

I’m going to start looking them in the eye until fear no longer becomes an option.

Who’s with me? 😉


Happy Wednesday, everyone! Relax, Friday’s just around the corner ❤

 

8 thoughts on “To Fear or Not to Fear? That Shouldn’t Be a Question.

  1. Shauna says:

    I’m 52; I have spent most of my life trying to avoid being sent to the principal’s office. And the thing is, even in elementary school, I was NEVER sent to the principal’s office. Done with that — screw the principal, the teachers and the whole system. I’m an adult; I can do whatever I want, and you can stick that in my permanent record. That is all. Have a lovely day. ;D

    Like

Leave a Reply

