An Open Letter to My Brother

Dear Ben,

I honestly don’t remember every detail about the day you were born.

I don’t remember what I ate for breakfast that day or which shoes I had on as I walked into the hospital. I don’t remember what time it was. I don’t even remember who took me to see you. All I remember is walking through the hospital almost aimlessly…because the one thing I had in mind consumed me so much that I felt like I was being pulled to you. As if our hearts were oppositely charged magnets.

IMG_6375.JPG

Ben-Jacob and me ❤

I just couldn’t wait to see you. You changed my whole world. The day you were born, which also happened to be the day I lost my “only child card” (which at some moments, I wish I still had…😂 chill…I’m kidding), was one of the best days of my life.

Fast-forward fourteen years later. 

We fight sometimes–some days about anything and everything under the sun. But the moment anyone talks smack about me, you’re the first one to come to my defense. Some days we don’t get along that much, but most of the time we do and the memories we make, I’ll cherish forever. They’re locked up in a special place in this big sister’s heart.

You’re not a little boy I can carry around anymore. Flashback Friday–remember when you were little, and I decided to use you as a doll and I dressed you in one of my gowns then Mom came downstairs and got mad at me? Yeah, you probably don’t remember that. But I do. You also probably don’t remember that I used to help put you to sleep–and there was this one time that the lullaby I chose for the  night was the national anthem. And you actually fell asleep to my humming it! 😂

You’re so strong. Literally. Like you can pull me up in one motion. I remember when I used to think I’d always be stronger than you. But I’ve come to terms with the fact that you’ve surpassed me when it comes to physical strength.

16388118_10208773176426603_2361275891804678678_n

We twinning! ❤

But I want you to know that no matter how strong you get, I’m still going to be here for you. All the time. No matter what. I might not be able to physically carry you on my back, but I can stick with you through hard times. I’ll get in the face of anyone who gets in yours. And when you need someone to talk to after a crappy day, I’ll always be ready to listen to you.

Words alone aren’t enough to fully express how proud I am of the young man you’re becoming right before my eyes–strong, kind, patient, loving, and humble. I’m blown away by how good you’ve gotten at football (I know you put a lot of work into that) and by how gifted you are with music (I mean come on, the La La Land soundtrack being played live in the house by some prodigy on my piano??? Get outta here–no just kidding…stay.)

You’re amazing, baby bro.

img_6411

Us now ❤

Lastly, there’s no such thing as “too big,” “too high,” or “too wild” when it comes to your dreams. So go for them. Dream big. Work hard. Stay humble. I know you’re gonna go far in life.

Mama and Daddy always say, “You are your brother’s keeper.” And they’re right. I am. Just like you’re my sentinel. You and I–we make a great team. So with that…

Happy Birthday, Ben!!! I love you to the moon.

<3,

Beatrice   

15965145_397435173932356_8840254919655837877_n.jpg

Happy Birthday, Champ! 🙂

 

 

4 thoughts on “An Open Letter to My Brother

Leave a Reply

