Empaths–The New X-Men.

 

download

I’ve always felt things deeply. I’ve always been in-touch with not just my own feelings, but with other people’s emotions as well. There were times I wondered if that made me weird–that I could pick up what the people around me were feeling more quickly and strongly than my friends seemed to–whether it was pain, sadness, joy, excitement, or confusion. I wasn’t sure of the answer then…but I am now.

No. Being an empath does not make me weird. Or weak (Gosh, I hate that stereotype). I didn’t always know what it meant to be an empath, but when I finally discovered the meaning, I felt like a mutant. A really cool mutant. (Honestly, I’m more of a DC fan than I am a Marvel fan–it really depends on which heroes we’re talking about, but for this post…I don’t know…”X-Men” seemed to fit more nicely than “the Justice League”, so…yeah. I didn’t mean to start a Civil War. :p )

Being a YA in this day and age, it’s easy to pick up on the one thing everyone is obsessed with–self. It’s all about “me.” “What can I get?” “What do want?” “What do feel?” That’s why I think empaths are not only cool, but they are also something the world needs (quite badly).

images-4

Why? What makes empaths stand out? Here are a few reasons:

1.) They care.

Well, for starters, empaths care (how can we not when we feel so deeply?)–and care is something the world lacks.

2.) They draw out the truth. 

Okay, so, I used to wonder (quite a lot) what it is about me that makes people want to tell me what’s on their minds–whether it’s a question, a feeling, a big family secret…you name it! I mean, is there a post-it note on my back that says “Tell me what’s bothering you. I’ll help make you better.” 

Now I know–empaths have a way about them that makes people feel safe. Safe enough to tell the truth. No matter what about. I’m serious.

3.) They stick with you. Through thick and thin. 

Empaths fight to keep what matters to them. They fight long. And they fight hard. It doesn’t matter what you say, or what you do. If you matter to them, they won’t just stick with you…they’ll fight your battle like it’s theirs.

*WARNING* Though empaths are for keeps, do not abuse their loyalty to you. If you do…you’ll be sorry (And I mean crying-like-a-baby kind’a sorry).

images-3

4.) They connect.

Empaths relate. They feel your pain and they share your joy. The very way they look you in the eyes makes you feel understood. They provide a connection way better than any service provider could ever offer. For one, they don’t charge. Also, a connection involves two separate signals. So if an empath only felt another person’s emotions, there would be no connection. But that’s the thing. Empaths can feel you and themselves at the same time. And they know the difference. 

5.) They love. Like crazy.

There are different kinds of love. There’s love that’s feeling-based. There’s also love that’s will-based. Making the choice to love takes more strength then simply loving because you feel like it. And because empaths are among the strongest people in the world, we make that choice. Over and over again. Because it’s who we are.

 


Being an empath can be hard. You constantly have to separate yourself from anything that you know is not you. You have to be aware when you’re around other people so you don’t get so caught up in what they’re feeling…that you lose you. 

But it gets easier in time. Because you get stronger. And at the end of the day, you’re a hero.

Empaths.

We don’t move buildings…we move hearts. We can’t create a portal and teleport from England to Argentina…but we can get to a place of understanding exactly what you’re feeling at the moment (and I think for some people, that’s way more significant). We don’t shoot laser beams from our hands…but often, just a touch from us brings an overwhelming feeling of safety and warmth. In a world that’s gone cold.

Empathy is our superpower.

images-5

Here’s another cool pic of an eye. 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Empaths–The New X-Men.

  1. spiritlady85 says:

    Thank you for sharing this post. I go through the same thing. I had a head injury a few years ago and it seems that a whole different world has opened up for me. I start feeling weird things, seeing weird things. For awhile I thought I was actually going crazy. But I’m not. Thank you for writing about this. Helps me know and learn that I’m not alone with this.

    Liked by 2 people

    • delrowbeatrice says:

      Oh, my pleasure 🙂 I chose to write about empaths because I want people to understand that it’s not some weird, new age thing. Empaths are simply people who can put themselves in the shoes of another, relate with them, and can still remain objective, and are therefore able to help.
      I hope you’re okay now! 🙂
      Thanks for taking the time to comment!

      Like

  2. twistingsuburbia says:

    I am so very impressed that you have accepted and learned to controller your mutant power at such a young age. I’m no longer a YA (unless you want to count my second childhood) and I still struggle to separate myself from others at times. Great post

    Liked by 1 person

    • delrowbeatrice says:

      Thank you! Yeah, it’s something I’m getting the hang of too…
      Hey, I stopped by your blog, and I gotta say, I literally laughed out loud at “Tracey Maron-Anthony is an FFF (Fabulous Fiftyish Female) who lives in the suburbs with her two children (the one she delivered and the one she married)” 😂😂😂
      I appreciate you taking the time to comment 🙂 Have a great day!
      -Beatrice

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

