How to Start Adult-ing

Hey there! If you’ve read my “About the Author” section, then you already know a few things about me. If you haven’t, then, well…didn’t your mom ever teach you not to talk to strangers? *laughs and claps like a seal* I’m kidding. My name is Beatrice, I’m eighteen, I’m an author, and this is How to Start Adult-ing. *confetti falls*

Let’s face it–we’re not kids anymore. It’s no longer socially acceptable for us to whine when things don’t go our way, and we are held to a standard that is significantly higher than when we were younger.

Just a few weeks ago, I had this urge to go “be an adult” and deposit some money into my bank account, so I asked my dad if we could swing by the bank on our way home. The only problem was…I didn’t know my account number. Finding myself in a serious predicament, I did what anyone else would do. I called my mom.

Adulthood doesn’t come with a manual–just like a lot of other things in life. I mean, sure, you can look for books on adult-ing, but come on. Let’s be real. Why spend your money on that when you can spend it on, let’s say…a really awesome YA book called Into the Shadows, right? (And that, ladies and gentlemen, is my first and last attempt at marketing my book on this post.)

Throughout my blog, I’m going to be writing about my own personal experiences that I think you’ll benefit from reading, and I’m going to be interviewing fellow YAto pick their brains and get their opinions/advice about all things YA. Also, because I believe there really is a lot we can learn from the older and the wiser, I’ll be talking to some not-so-young-adults as well–and I’m talking relationship advice, financial literacy, some of their “should’a, would’a, could’as,” and more!  If you have something you’d like to contribute, please don’t hesitate to contact me! I want this site to be as community-involved as possible!

That being said, let’s get started! Here are 5 things to help ease us into adulthood:

#1) Patience.

Sadly, becoming an adult doesn’t happen overnight (Well, I guess on the night before your eighteenth birthday, then it technically does, but you get what I mean). As much as I wish it would, snapping my fingers won’t magically turn me into a responsible adult who no longer procrastinates everything.

Patience. Patience is key. Remember: Progress. Not perfection. 

#2) Sleep. 

Okay, I’m not kidding. It started around sixteen or seventeen–I started sleeping later. You know how, when you were a kid, staying up til nine o’clock was a feat worth bragging about in school the next day? Yeah, well, I look back at that and laugh my butt off. Because I am officially a night-owl.

As much as I’ve come to embrace my nocturnality, the truth is, we need our sleep. The amount of hours we get in affects both our mood and our body.

People who don’t get enough sleep are cranky. Plus, the brain doesn’t work to its full potential when it hasn’t had enough time to rejuvenate. That’s why we’re not as creative when we’re tired–the brain’s too tired to think outside the box. So, if you’re a writer, and you’re experiencing writer’s block…or if you’re a painter experiencing painter’s block (I’m sorry, I don’t know what you guys call it), try getting more sleep. 🙂

If the welfare of your brain’s not enough to get you to sleep earlier, consider this the fact for you: Late nights = pimple fights (Mhmm). So honey, we’d better get some sleep now. 😉

(OMG, I just realized that I’m writing this post at twelve in the morning.)

#3) Love for yourself. 

*Gasp* Isn’t that selfish?!

No, it isn’t. You know why? We love others the way we love ourselves.

I used to be hard on people–I used to criticize and judge a lot. Then one day, I realized, it was because that’s how I was with myself. I couldn’t stand making mistakes, and when I messed up, it felt like the world was caving in on me. But that all changed when I began to love me. I began accepting my mistakes instead of constantly trying to make up for them, and in doing so, I began accepting myself.

In time, I began seeing people through different eyes. I didn’t hold them against my rigid standard of do’and don’tanymore, because I no longer held myself against it.

When we learn to love ourselves, we learn how to love the people around us.

#4) A BFF.

BFF. Best Friend Forever. Let’s be honest–there’s a Great Divide between a friend and a BFF.

A friend is someone you can call during the day. A BFF is someone you can call at two in the morning when you have to get something off your chest.

When you explode because you’ve had a crappy week, a friend will probably tell you to “chill” while silently backing away. A BFF will take you to the nearest boxing ring so you can let off some steam.

A friend is, to some degree, someone you have to try with–someone you have to keep up appearances with. Someone you have to entertain when he/she comes over. Someone you can’t screw up in front of. A BFF is someone you can be yourself with–someone you don’t need to try to impress. Someone you allow to see you for who you are–the good parts and the bad.

A friend will stick with you through tough times. A BFF will stick with you and make your battle theirs.

Everyone needs a BFF. Life is just so much brighter with one.

#5) Confidence

Children can pull off the whole “unconfident” act. Somehow, their shyness can come across as adorable–cute, even. However, the same cannot be said about adults.

Without confidence, we are a sorry sight. I mean, come on. We’re YAs! We’re supposed to be the “life of the party”. We’re supposed to have a sparkle in our eyes. We’re supposed ot be young and free.

So! How do you “get” confidence? Confidence is defined as a feeling of self-assurance arising from one’s appreciation of one’s own abilities or qualities.

Confidence is found when you’re happy with yourself. So do things that make you happy with you–simple as that. Make decisions that make you like yourself more. For example: tackling my to-do lists head on instead of procrastinating them as long as I can makes me happy with myself.

No one’s asking you to be perfect, so learn to love yourself for who you are. You’ll feel more at-home in your own skin, then the confidence will follow. 😉

*timer goes off*

And that, ladies and gentlemen, signals the end of my very first post! Thanks for sticking with me to the end (of this article), ya’ll. I really can’t wait to get in touch with you.

Now, go be an adult!

8 thoughts on “How to Start Adult-ing

    • delrowbeatrice says:

      Hahaha! Don’t worry, I’m pretty sure you’re way better at adulting than I am. LOL!
      Aw, thank you 🙂 I’m glad I’m starting early too.
      Hey, I really appreciate you taking the time to follow, like, and comment. Have a great day 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

